We want to buy your Transferable Class 3 Firearms
The Maryland Firearm Safety Act of 2013 requires that a person acquire a Maryland HQL in order to purchase, receive, rent, etc. a regulated firearm after the effective date of October 1, 2013. (See below for more information)
This class is not only an HQL class, but is specifically designed as a handgun safety and operation class. It is intended to provide the student with invaluable information on how to safely operate and maintain a handgun.
In addion, this class contains the following topics:
•State Firearms Law
•Home Firearm Safety
•Handgun Mechanisms and Operation
•Cleaning and Maintenance
If you require a Maryland HQL, this is the class you need! However, it is also a must have for those who would like to gain more knowledge of handguns and handgun safety.
The course consists of total 4 hours of instruction including the required live fire component. Please register at least 48 hours in advance.
A person may not purchase, rent, or receive a handgun after October 1, 2013 unless they possess a valid Handgun Qualification License (HQL) issued by the Maryland State Police or qualify for exemption status.
Exceptions to possession of the HQL License: •A Licensed Firearms Manufacturer. •Active law enforcement officer or a person retired in good standing from a law enforcement agency of the United States (Federal Law Enforcement), the State, or a local law enforcement agency of the State. •Active or retired member of the United States Armed Forces or National Guard and possesses a valid military identification card. •A person purchasing, renting or receiving an antique, curio or relic as defined in federal law. •Maryland licensed firearms dealers.
Required to have the HQL, but exempt from the training component: •Someone who completed a firearms safety training course approved by the Secretary of the Department of Maryland State Police. •Has completed a course of instruction in the competency and safety of firearms as prescribed under Natural Resources Article, §10-301.1, Annotated Code of Maryland. Application for the Maryland Department of Natural Resources Hunter Safety Course Certificate can be obtained from here and may be used in lieu of Qualified Handgun Instruction. •Is currently a qualified handgun instructor. •Is an honorably discharged member of the armed forces of the United States or National Guard. •Is an employee of an armored car company who has a handgun permit issued by MSP. •Lawfully owns a regulated firearm. (If you already own a regulated firearm prior to October 1, 2013, you do not have to complete the training to apply for the Handgun Qualification License).
In accordance with the Firearm Safety Act of 2013, individuals who are voluntarily admitted to an inpatient psychiatric facility (either state, private or acute general), for a period of 30 consecutive days or more, or involuntarily certified and retained by an Administrative Law Judge may have to surrender their firearms and will be prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm unless an individual is granted relief from firearm disqualification. DHMH makes available to persons who are prohibited from possessing certain firearms a process to apply for relief from these prohibitions.
*The student is responsible for all applicable fees. This includes fingerprinting fees and application fees required by the Maryland State Police.
*The student must supply his/her own eye/hearing protection. Urban Defense LLC will supply firearms and ammunition at no additional cost.
*Please read the exemptions listed on this page to determine if you are "training exempt."
*All fees are not refundable.
FOP Lodge 34
730 Wampler Road
Middle River, MD 21220
See below. Some classes may have alternate start/end times.
What Do I Need To Bring:
Information of what to bring can be found on your confirmation email. Students should bring ID, note taking material, and snacks/lunch (if desired). It is recommended that each student brings their own eye and ear protection. Do not bring any firearms or ammunition to the class. Walk-ins are allowed only if seats are available. The walk-in fee is $125.00 (cash only), admittance is not guaranteed.
Check-in begins promptly at 7:45am.
2022 Class Dates:
December 10, 2022 (Saturday) 8:00am-12:30pm (Seats Available)
2023 Class Dates:
Price is per student.
(Please call prior to paying to register for your specific class date)
Students may pay via PayPal, Cash, Check, or Money Order. Payments must be received in advance of the class date unless other arraignments have been made. See exemptions before registering for a class. Electronic payments are subject to a PayPal service fee. Walk-in fee is $125.00 (cash only) if seats are available.
This price covers two students. Additional students are $150.00 each. Group rates are available.
Contact us to set up your personalized private class.
PRIVATE CLASSES are scheduled and configured to the specifications of the client. We can come to you or you can come to us.
Students may pay via PayPal, Cash, Check, or Money Order. Payments must be received in advance of the class date unless other arraignments have been made. See exemptions before registering for a class. Electronic payments are subject to a PayPal service fee
This video was created as a guide on how to create your Maryland State Police Licensing Portal Account. The MSP Licensing Portal is used for many things within Firearm Services; including, but not limited to, Maryland HQL, Maryland Wear and Carry Permit submission, and 77R Application/Affidavit to Purchase a Regulated Firearm, Etc.
This video was created as a guide on how to create/submit your Maryland Handgun Qualification License (HQL) Application.